This week held some focus on health issues, my first PSA in six months and the first visit to my oncologist in 18 months.  The prior PSA, taken in June, was very much a surprise, expectations were for 20+ with a 25 being very likely, instead, the number came back as 16.1.  With that backdrop the thought was the velocity of the disease progression had been arrested somewhat with the treatments I underwent in the spring of 2009.  The expectation, based on the June number, was something possibly as low as 25 and likely in the low to mid-30’s, again we had a surprise when the PSA was 46.7.  Needless to say, the 30 point increase provoked a discussion of what to do next, a discussion I had not been prepared to undertake and would prefer not to have been presented just prior to Christmas.  I suppose that’s just life and I’ll deal with it as always.

Happy reading and happy trails.

As always, feel free to comment or you may email me at lifeabstractions@gmail.com

Ciao

